Microsoft Word Spell Check not working

Hello,

I'm a translator working with Trados Studio 2021 SR2 - 16.2.12.9338 and GS 2020 SR1 CU04.
At our place of work, we have Office 365. Everything is completely up to date.
A while ago, Microsoft Word Spell Check stopped working in Studio. Only for me - my colleagues with the exact same set-up, do not have this problem.

When I try to select Microsoft Word Spell Check instead of Hunspell, I get this error message:
"Unable to select spell checker extension.
Unable to locate if Microsoft Word is installed on this machine."

The spell check works just fine in Word!

Can you help me resolve this issue?

Thanks!

Kind regards,

Emma

emoji
Parents
  • Hello everyone,

I have been able to reproduce this issue if I have manually added an (otherwise empty) custom macro in the default document template of Microsoft Word (Normal.dotm file). Spell checking communication relies on an empty document that is created by default by Word using that template in a temporary folder, leading to the issue in certain cases, possibly linked to changes recently done by Microsoft (maybe related to the group policy default changes that somebody also has pointed to).

To cause the issue I simply recorded a macro in there (into Normal.dotm) and started Trados Studio, then attempted to set it to use Word as spell checker.

To resolve the problem, I had to:

- close Trados Studio, close Outlook
    - open Normal.dotm file in Word using Open / Browse and going to: C:\Users\{username}\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Templates
    - have all macros removed from ribbon Views / Macros dialog
    - close Word to save the document template

However, for me this didn't immediately solve the issue; I also had to:

- close all Winword.exe processes from Task Manager / Details
    - in Trados Studio attempt to set up Word spell checker again, in Options dialog / Spelling