How to add a segmentation rule to have Studio segment BEFORE every opening bracket

Hello. I want to create a new TM where Studio should segment BEFORE every opening bracket. I have tried playing with the segmentation rules, but I am having trouble since in most cases the segmentation happens after the break character, not before. I guess that the segmentation rule should look something like: Any character/digit before break, a space as the break character (which is not an option but  it may be possible to add it as regex in the Advanced display of the rule) and an opening bracket followed by any character/digit after break. I am new to regex. Any ideas would be much appreciated.  

Parents Reply Children
  • Thanks ,

The TM attached has the default segmentation rules:

Screenshot of Trados Studio showing Segmentation Rules window with rules like Full stop rule, Other terminating punctuation, Colon, and Semi-colon.

As you can see, there are no segmentation rule for parenthesis. So just guessing, you may have another TM with the same name but without the segmentation rule you needed.

If I add the above mentioned segmentation rule to your TM:

Screenshot of Trados Studio's Translation Memory Settings window with a focus on Edit Segmentation Rule dialog box for parenthesis.

Then I get this as expected (of course, after deleting the DOCX from the Files view and adding it again):

Screenshot of a Trados Studio document with highlighted text indicating segmentation errors, such as missing breaks for parenthesis.

Please ensure you use the TM with the right segmentation rules in your project, delete the files in Files view and add them in order to be re-segmented. This should work!

emoji

Generated Image Alt-Text
    [edited by: Trados AI at 4:38 AM (GMT 0) on 5 Mar 2024]